This website uses cookies to improve your experience.

Please enable cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website

Sign the petition

to call for a

Convention of States!


U.S. legal elite unite around Convention of States

Published in Blog on July 17, 2017 by Convention Of States Project

On September 11, 2014, some of our nation’s finest legal minds convened at The Jefferson Hotel in Washington, D.C., to engage in a full, robust discussion of the Convention of States Project. The participants—including former members of the Reagan administration, seasoned Supreme Court litigators, and Ivy League professors—discussed and debated arguments for and against the use of Article V to restrain federal power and evaluated its potential to be used safely and effectively.

The hotel, which is four blocks from the White House, was the ideal location for this conversation. In fact, the hotel’s namesake, Thomas Jefferson, believed Article V should be used to “correct breaches of the Constitution.”

In this historic location, these renowned legal experts discussed how to effectively use the Constitution to save the Constitution. Several hours later, they had achieved consensus and endorsed the Convention of States Project.

They specifically rejected the argument that a Convention of States is likely to be misused or improperly controlled by Congress, concluding instead that the mechanism provided by the Founders is safe. Moreover, they shared the conviction that Article V provides the only constitutionally effective means to restore our federal system.

In an era of quick fixes, press conferences, and spin, this meeting was designed to go to the root of the problems that ail our nation. Thankfully, these constitutional experts saw the potential and the hope our Founders gave us even as they were forming our country.

The conclusions of these prestigious experts are memorialized in The Jefferson Statement, which you can read here. Their names are listed below. For a full bio of each individual, click here.

Randy E. Barnett - Georgetown University Law Professor

Charles J. Cooper - Assistant Attorney General for President Reagan

Dr. John C. Eastman - Henry Salvatori Professor of Law & Community Service at Chapman University Fowler School of Law

Michael Farris - Head of the Convention of States Project, founder of Patrick Henry College, and Chairman of the Homeschool Legal Defense Association

Robert P. George - Former Judicial Fellow at the Supreme Court of the United States

C. Boyden Gray - White House Counsel in the administration of President George H.W. Bush

Mark Levin - Top advisor to several members of President Ronald Reagan's Cabinet

Andrew McCarthy - Former Chief Assistant U.S. Attorney in New York

Mark Meckler - President of Citizens for Self-Governance

Click here to get involved!
Convention of states action

Are you sure you don't want emailed updates on our progress and local events? We respect your privacy, but we don't want you to feel left out!